THE VIRUS IS SPREADING

Not only in the UK and Eire are people waking up to the virus of wind development. More and more we hear the problems of Northern Europe where the cancer originally took hold. Now we see it progressing southward.

arnac la psote

From Harry Amey

I am posting this here as it seems the most appropriate place. My family have become victims of industrial wind. Not directly, as only four of the 300 industrial turbines planned in a 30km radius of our house have been built and these four are ten km away. Of those 300 industrial wind turbines, around fifty are planned within a ten km radius of our small commune of ‘Arnac la Poste’ in the North Haute Vienne region of France. The closest five will be between 2 and 3 km from our home. They are coming to the end of the planning stage in our commune and, if all goes ahead, I expect them to be constructed and operating, at the latest, by the end of 2017. In my opinion it will be a disaster for this beautiful region of France. A huge mistake is being made. A small minority will gain financially but the majority will suffer as a result. Some will pay with their health.
I have actively campaigned against industrial wind for a year now; set up the ‘No to Wind Turbines in the North Haute Vienne’ Facebook page; joined pressure groups; attended meetings; delivered flyers and put up posters, spent my own money and generally tried to let people know what is happening and how it may affect them in order that they can take an informed position on the subject and decide for themselves.

I could be doing better things with my time. I do not want or need this crap and stress in my life, but it has arrived on my doorstep and so I have had no alternative but to face it head on. I feel angry, bitter and anxious all the time. The subject dominates my time and this is without the buggers even being built yet. What will life be like when they are? I have a pretty good idea from sites such as this one – probably ‘Hell’. Our local community has already split in two and a once open and friendly village has become insular and suspicious of one another. It is the unfairness and the undemocratic nature of it all that gets my goat. Green energy my arse! It’s all about the money. It always has been and it always will be. We are just irritants and collateral damage to the corporate money making machines. They and the politicians simply do not care if we become ill or suffer financially.

During this time I have met and become friends with some wonderful people. Probably the most influential of these has been Michael Keane, in Ireland. I visited him there this month with my wife and the experience has had a profound effect on us both. To witness first-hand the disaster that fell about him and his wife Dorothy was as distressing as it was enlightening. We toured the area with him. Visited their beautiful dream house which they simply abandoned on medical advice, their struggle with illness; depression and other mental health issues all brought on as a result of two giant wind turbines built 700m from the property. Their continual campaigning; meetings with lawyers, politicians, attending TV and radio shows and willingness to reveal all their suffering to anyone that would listen in order to try and prevent them becoming victims too. I take my hat off to Michael and Dorothy Keane, I really do. I have no wish to walk in their shoes but I can see those shoes are already warming by the fire and I have no doubt that they will be a snug fit when (if) I slip them on.

Part of me wants to play the Ostrich and stick my head in the sand. Surely it won’t be that bad will it? Turbine roulette is what I call it. Will I or members of my family get sick? How much will I lose on the value of my house? Will I be even able to sell it? Will a change of Government in 2017 stop this madness? Who knows? It’s already sending me ‘mad’ though and then Michael’s sad but wise words then keep ringing in my ears “At the end of the day Harry, nobody really cares about ‘you’ apart from yourself” and sadly, as much as I don’t want to hear that, I know in my heart he is right and that I have to be proactive if I am to protect my family. So, we have decided to put our house on the market now, see if we can sell as soon as possible and move on. It may be too late already though. No doubt we are already blighted by the mere threat of industrial wind turbines. We may sell, but at a huge loss. We may not be even able to sell at all. Who knows what will happen, but at least I feel a bit more in control. At least my head is out of the sand now, even if there is still grit in my eyes.

I’ve decided not to play roulette. It’s a mugs game.

About Dougal Quixote

Slightly mad. Always believes a cup is half full so continues to tilt at Wind Turbines and the politicians that seem to believe it is their god given right to ruin Scotland for a pot of fool's gold.
This entry was posted in Wind farms. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to THE VIRUS IS SPREADING

  1. We are forming the Falmouth Law Project. Everyone who wants to stop Big Wind is welcome.

  2. Harry Amey says:

    I wrote this piece and posted it on the FB page ‘Victims of Industrial Wind’ out of pure frustration, anger and a feeling of complete impotence. It was simply my way of letting off steam. It seems to have been shared quite a bit which, although not my original intention, I am happy with if it highlights the complete disregard that wind developers and politicians (at all levels) have for the lives of rural communities and people in general. Wind is a wicked industry with no morality whatsoever.

    France is in the grip of Wind fever. Backed and encouraged by an ignorant state policy and engorged by subsidies, the wind companies, or as I call them the ‘Faux Greens’, are prospecting heavily and constructing industrial wind turbines throughout the country and as quickly as they can. They seduce local landowners and councils with promises of long term riches and community investment projects. The result is an anarchic spread of industrial wind turbines with no thought to their devastating impact. France, a country that produces in the region of 80% of its electricity from nuclear. A country where industrial wind turbines serve no real purpose whatsoever and never will. Utter madness.

Leave a Reply

